The CITTA 14th Annual Conference on Planning Research will debate on how spatial and transport planning theory and practice can help the society to protect itself from the risks of inequality by promoting social justice, well-being, trust, cohesion, and economic growth. The communities of the future should be resilient and connected, at both the urban and the rural scale, where social and spatial divides are addressed through responsive and transformative policies, and transport systems are integrated to promote sustainable, safe, and inclusive mobility. Particularly, we welcome contributions focused on (i) understanding the patterns, values, desires, needs, and behaviours associated with different communities and groups of population, (ii) stimulating community-led initiatives and public participation to assist policy- and decision-making and to ensure the success of these processes, (iii) delivering systematic outcome-driven approaches able to encompass and promote social welfare, trust, and fairness in the resolution of spatial planning and transport problems, and/or (iv) deriving policies and actions to bridge the gaps between innovation and societal changes.

The conference will be held in Porto, Portugal on 17th June 2022, under the main topic Safe, equitable and Just communities.

Submitted contributions should fall under at least one of the four conference tracks:

  1. Planning for social and environmental justice;
  2. Equitable and just urban policies;
  3. Accessible and inclusive transport systems and mobility services;
  4. Safe and efficient transport systems.

Conference proceedings (deadline extended)

The full paper submission for the conference proceedings is optional and should follow the guidelines for authors.

The submission of full paper is open until 31st July 2022.

Organizing committee

Chair: Paulo Conceição (chair)

Co-chair: António Lobo (co-chair)

Committee members: Isabel Coimbra, João Bigotte, Luciano Moreira, Sérgio Pedro Duarte, Tatiane Serrano,

Secretariat: Joana Bailão

Scientific committee

Paulo Pinho, António Pais Antunes, Isabel Breda Vázquez, António Couto, Paulo Conceição, António Lobo, Sara Ferreira, Sara Santos Cruz