The symposium of “Mechanical Engineering” will be held in the scope of the 3rd Doctoral Congress Engineering (DCE19) which will be hosted at FEUP, Porto, Portugal on the 27th and 28th of June 2019

Symposium organizers are pleased to invite you to share ongoing work or results of PhD or Master.

Topics of interest will include (but not limited to):

  • Computational Mechanics;
  • Fluids Mechanics;
  • Dynamic Analysis;
  • Materials and Manufacturing Processes
  • Experimental Mechanics;
  • Friction and Tribology;
  • Adhesive Joints.

Please check the ‘Instructions for authors’ page



Please check the ‘Instructions for authors’ page

Please note that for this Symposium, only original and unpublished research is accepted for submission.

–> Submission phase for the Mechanical Engineering Symposium is now closed. If you wish to submit an abstract our update an already submitted abstract, please contact




Presentation (oral communication/poster)

At least one of the authors is required to attend the symposium to present the abstract.

Each presentation has 15 minutes (including 5 minutes for any questions and discussion).

Presentations should be prepared by PowerPoint 4:3 format and speakers must provide their presentations, before session(s) starts.


Invited Speakers and Programme

This symposium will count with the participation of invited speakers. Details will be announced soon.



All accepted  and revised abstracts, with at least one author registered in the Congress with a paid fee, will be mentioned in the event’s program/Booklet that will be given to congress participants on the 1st day.

All accepted  and revised abstracts, with at least one author registered in the Congress with a paid fee, will be published in the Symposium Book of Abstracts (with ISBN).

Selected works will be given a chance to be published as full papers, in a Special Issue of Proceedings at the U. Porto Journal of Engineering. The announcement of the selected abstracts will be made after the congress, along with further instructions for the authors.




Authors of accepted and revised abstracts, presented at the Congress, will be eligible for:

  1. Best oral communication Award;
  2. Best poster Award.

Please check the ‘Awards’ page.


Registration (Payment)

Registration is mandatory for all participants.

At least one author  of each accepted and revised abstract must be registered in the event, with a paid fee, for the abstracts’ reference to appear in the Booklet, in the Book of Abstracts and in the Proceedings.

All PRODEM students (participants and/or authors of submitted abstracts), MIEM students (authors) and Computational Mechanics students (authors) who wish to register in DCE19’s Symposium in Mechanical Engineering, will have their registration costs covered (after registration, please wait for the confirmation email). Dinner is not included in the costs supported by PRODEM, nor are the workshops.

All others (students, researchers and professors) – from FEUP or outside – that wish to register in the Symposium on Mechanical Engineering may have their registrations sponsored, upon request (please contact Prof. César Sá –

To  have your registration paid, check the ‘Registrations‘ webpage and follow the guidelines.


Symposium Committee

Symposium Chairs

  • Abel Dias dos Santos | FEUP
  • José César de Sá | FEUP

Symposium Organizing Committee

  • Rui Amaral | PhD candidate in Mechanical Eng, FEUP
  • Carolina Furtado | PhD candidate in Mechanical Eng, FEUP

Scientific Committee

  • Abel Dias dos Santos | FEUP
  • Abílio Manuel Pinho de Jesus | FEUP
  • Albertino José Castanho Arteiro | FEUP
  • Alexandre Miguel Prior Afonso | FEUP
  • António Augusto Fernandes | FEUP
  • António Gil d’Orey de Andrade Campos | U.Aveiro
  • António Torres Marques | FEUP
  • Armando Carlos Figueiredo Coelho de Oliveira | FEUP
  • Carlos Alberto da Conceição António | FEUP
  • Clito Félix Alves Afonso | FEUP
  • Diogo Mariano Simões Neto | U.Coimbra
  • Eduardo André de Sousa Marques | FEUP
  • Fernando Gomes de Almeida | FEUP
  • Fernando Jorge Lino Alves | FEUP
  • Francisco Manuel Andrade Pires | FEUP
  • Joaquim Gabriel Magalhães Mendes | FEUP
  • João Manuel Ribeiro da Silva Tavares | FEUP
  • José Fernando Dias Rodrigues | FEUP
  • José Luís Carvalho Martins Alves | U.Minho
  • José Valdemar Bidarra Fernandes | U.Coimbra
  • Lucas Filipe Martins da Silva | FEUP
  • Marco Paulo Lages Parente | FEUP
  • Marcelo Francisco de Sousa Ferreira de Moura | FEUP
  • Marta Cristina Cardoso de Oliveira | U.Coimbra
  • Paulo Manuel Salgado Tavares de Castro | FEUP
  • Pedro Manuel Ponces Rodrigues de Castro Camanho | FEUP
  • Ramiro Carneiro Martins | ISEP
  • Renato Manuel Natal Jorge | FEUP
  • Rui Jorge Sousa Costa de Miranda Guedes | FEUP