ASAIT Special Session

Architectures and Systems for Automotive and Intelligent Transportation

Digital systems in transportation systems are becoming increasingly complex, and new applications have emerged to respond to people and societal needs and to ensure driver and passenger safety. Applications such as Vehicle-to-X (V2X) communications, in-vehicle infotainment, and assistance for elderly and disabled drivers require powerful processing and communication capabilities. Moreover, modern transport tools play the leading role in strategically worldwide projects such as green and sustainable mobility in future smart cities and smart roads. To fulfill these tasks, the number and types of sensors in next generation of transport systems will continually increase and requires significant computing power, low energy consumption and high reliability.

The purpose of this track is to look deeper into these issues, and bring researchers and practitioners from industry and academia to explore and discuss recent progress, and stimulate the interaction between them through exchange of ideas and experience sharing.

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

  • System architecture & software design for ITS
  • Multicore challenges
  • Safety, Security and Reliability
  • Assessment and detection of security threats and vulnerabilities
  • Designing architecture and software for security
  • Reliability in the nano-scale era
  • Interfaces & Driver Assistance Systems, and in-vehicle networks (Most, Flexray, Can, Ethernet, etc.)
  • Standards (AUTOSAR, ISO, EN, etc.) deployments
  • HMI, infotainment development and usability testing
  • Development methods for advanced driver assistance systems
  • Design methods and toolchains for embedded systems in autonomous vehicles and active safety
  • Architectural design and optimization for EVs and HEVs
  • Infrastructure analysis, modeling, simulation and optimization in ITS
  • Energy-efficient vehicles, connected vehicles and infrastructure design, energy generation and saving
  • Hardware and software solutions for run-time system management, including self-diagnostics and repair
  • New architectures, protocols and implementations for communicating vehicles (V2X) and infrastructures
  • Digital systems and circuits for smart cities and roads.


Authors are encouraged to submit their manuscripts to Should an unexpected web access problem be encountered, please contact the Program Chair by email (

Each manuscript should include the complete paper text, all illustrations, and references. The manuscript should conform to the IEEE format: single-spaced, double column, US letter page size, 10-point size Times Roman font, up to 8 pages. In order to conduct a blind review, no indication of the authors’ names should appear in the manuscript, references included.

CPS, Conference Publishing Services, publishes the DSD Proceedings (submitted for ISI indexing), submitted to the IEEE Xplore Digital Library. Extended versions of selected best papers will be published in a special issue of the ISI indexed “Microprocessors and Microsystems: Embedded Hardware Design” Elsevier journal.


Deadline for paper submission: April 12th, 2015 (EXTENDED)
Notification of acceptance: June 15th, 2015
Camera ready papers: June 29th, 2015


Smail Niar (U Valenciennes, FR)


Morteza Abhari, Auckland University, New-Zealand
Mohamed Bakhouya, International University of Rabat, Morocco
Philippe Bonnot, Thales Group, France
Oliver Bringmann, FZI Karlsruhe, Germany
Alberto Broggi, VisLab, Università di Parma, Italy
Khaled Douzane, Scaleo-Chip, France
Wassim Drira, Qatar Mobility Innovation Center, Qatar
Yassin Elhillali, University of Valenciennes, France
Ahmed Eltawil, University of California Irvine, USA
Suhaib Fahmy, Nanyang Tech. University, Singapore
Dip Goswami, Eindhoven University of Tech., Netherlands
Daniel Gracia-Perez, Thales Group, France
Andreas Herkersdorf, TU München, Germany
Fadi Kurdahi, University of California Irvine, USA
Fabrice Lemonnier, Thales Group, France
Enno Luebbers, Intel Open Lab Munich, Germany
Alejandro Masrur, TU Chemnitz, Germany
Hamid Menouar, Qatar Mobility Innovation Center, Qatar
Reda Nouacer, CEA-LIST, France
Atika Rivenq-Menhaj, University of Valenciennes, France
Mazen Saghir, Texas A&M, Doha, Qatar
Oliver Sander, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany
Yervant Zorian, Synopsys, USA