ESE Track

Embedded Software Engineering (ESE)
Technical Track

In the design of embedded systems, the importance of software engineering is increasing as such software is used to implement an increasing number of functions and innovations. Embedded software is the core of software-intensive embedded systems and typically handles interactions with the real world under extra-functional constraints. Such constraints include requirements related to space, time, energy consumption, and dependability.

The SEEA track on embedded software engineering (ESE) is primarily focused on the development and engineering methods for embedded software. However, we also welcome submissions targeting other aspects of embedded software applications such as analysis methods for extra-functional properties or languages for modelling embedded software architectures. We encourage submission of papers of a more theoretical nature, as well as experience reports from academia and especially from industry. In particular, we encourage submissions demonstrating the benefits or limitations of ESE approaches through case studies, experiments, and quantitative data.

Topics of interest include (but are not limited to):

  • Design and implementation of embedded software
  • Programming methodologies and languages for embedded software
  • Model-based and component-based approaches to embedded software development
  • Embedded software verification and validation
  • Testing and certification of embedded software
  • Software-intensive systems applications, e.g., in automotive, avionics, railway, energy, industrial automation, health care, and telecommunication
  • Middleware and runtime environments for embedded software
  • Embedded software architectures
  • Embedded software in the cloud, in wireless sensor networks, or in the internet of things

SEAA 2015 – ESE Track – Call for Papers in PDF format (updated).

Submission of Papers:

Track Organizers:

ESE_mark Mark Bartlett, University of York, UK
ESE_etienne Etienne Borde, Telecom Paristech, France

Program Commitee

  • Mikael Åkerholm, Maximatecc, Sweden
  • Clara Benac Earle, Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, Spain
  • Dominique Blouin, Hasso-Platner-Institut, Germany
  • Jan Bosch, Chalmers University, Sweden
  • Florian Brandner, ENSTA ParisTech, France
  • Guglielmo De Angelis, ISTI-CNR, Italy
  • Julien Delange, Software Engineering Institute, USA
  • Holger Eichelberger, Univeristy of Hildersheim, Germany
  • Antonio Filieri, University of Stuttgart, Germany
  • Kristina Forsberg, Saab, Sweden
  • Olivier Hachet, Thales, France
  • Emilio Insfran, Universitat Politecnica de Valencia, Spain
  • Frédéric Loiret, Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden
  • Patricia López Martínez, University of Cantabria, Spain
  • Roland Mader, AVL, Austria
  • Vincent Nelis, ISEP/IPP, Portugal
  • Dejan Nickovic, Austrian Institute of Technology, Austria
  • Thomas Nolte, Mälardalen University, Sweden
  • Luis Miguel Pinho, Polytechnic Institute of Porto, Portugal
  • Arne Skou, Aalborg University, Denmark
  • Daniel Sundmark, Mälardalen University, Sweden
  • Massimo Tivoli, University of L’Aquila, Italy
  • Stefano Tonetta, FBK, Italy
  • Martin Törngren, Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden
  • Michael Wagner, Fraunhofer FOKUS, Germany
  • Richard West, Boston University, USA